Reflections in Christ

Reflecting on my journey in Christ

Claiming the High C’s – Introductory Chapter Question 3

Posted by gshstudy on January 12, 2007

3) Talk about a stormy time in your life.  What helped you to get through it?

Every Saturday, in the basement of my church, an amazing miracle takes place.  Men get together, connecting in a truly meaningful way and building their relationship with Christ.  Little did I know, just how vital, supportive and life changing this group of men would be.

About 6 months ago I began experiencing severe back pain.  The pain was so severe, that I couldn’t even sit down for more then 10 – 15 minutes at a time.   It felt as though someone were sticking a knife into my side. 

The doctor suggested physical therapy and scheduled an MRI just to be safe.  I did the initial assessment for physical therapy and found out that I had about 50% mobility in my legs.  However, at my follow-up visit to review the MRI, I was in for a big surprise.

I expected to hear that it was nothing and just to start the physical therapy.  Instead I was shock to hear the doctor say that a piece of my disk had broken off and was in my spinal column.  I would need to have surgery as soon as possible to remove the piece.

Now, it’s important to understand, that one of the main reasons I chose this doctor is he views surgery as a last resort. Since I have never had surgery and I wasn’t very keen on the idea either, I figured I was pretty safe.  What is the chance it is so serious that surgery is the only option?

So when he said we should schedule the surgery I was a bit surprised.  I asked if I could do the physical therapy and then if that didn’t help, do the surgery.  His response was mainly, “It won’t help, but it shouldn’t hurt either and the month will be good for getting you used to the idea.”

For the next month I did almost everything the physical therapist told me to do.   And there were many people in my family and church that helped me get through that difficult month.

But, the guys from my Band of Brothers group were so huge in helping me.  They prayed for me without ceasing.  Stopped me from lifting or doing anything else to hurt myself, but not in a condemning way, but in a loving and supportive way.  Different guys would call me at least a couple of nights a week just to say hi and see how things were going.

It was all so uplifting. 

When I went back to the doctor at the end of the month the pain was almost completely gone.  I had 98% of my movement back (my waistline contributing to the loss of the 2%).  He marveled for a moment and said, “by all rights you should be in severe pain right now.  You’re a freak of nature because you should be getting surgery”.

Well, I know how it was healed and by who.  And I also know, my Brothers helped me to remember that the whole time and in the months to follow. 

2 Responses to “Claiming the High C’s – Introductory Chapter Question 3”

  1. Lisa said

    I have alway know you are a freak, but a freak of nature, thats a bit harsh.
    I have seen the power of prayer and postive thinking heal alot people, its is powerfull stuff.

  2. Shesselib said

    hi,
    good site🙂 Whish you good luck!

Leave a Reply

 
