Reflections in Christ

Reflecting on my journey in Christ

Better Together – 40 Days of Community – Day 11

Posted by gshstudy on October 31, 2006

Day 11 – Who is the last person in your life that you would expect to become a Christian?  How could your acceptance of them build a bridge to Christ?

I am not going to use the persons real name, but we will call him Dave.  I think picking the person out is more of an exercise to imagine the most challenging person or least Christ like and then explain how you would except that person.  One of the problems for me is that I see myself as one of those least likely people to become a Christian. 

This is not the cliche Christian humbleness, I was a real screw up growing and through my adult life.  The behavior I had as a child/teen would have gotten me locked up nowadays.  And my adult years weren’t any better.   I often wonder how my mother survived those years because as I look at my own 4 children, I hope none of them do the kinds of things I did.

But back to the person I am envisioning.  My acceptance might help a lot.  This is one of the few people in the world I butt heads with on a fairly regular basis.  I sometimes get afraid if I give in to people, especially someone like Dave, they will think that they can just walk all over me whenever they feel like it.  This tends to make me pretty defensive.

But, if I just accepted that person for who they are and tried to be understanding of what they want, that might go a long way toward helping them with a relationship with Christ.  Hopefully they would see this and wonder why I had changed.  This would give me the chance to talk and who knows were that can lead.

Leave a Reply

 
