Reflections in Christ

Reflecting on my journey in Christ

Better Together – 40 Days of Community – Day 7

Posted by gshstudy on October 27, 2006

Day 7 – How loudly do your actions speak about the love of God? 

I would say my actions speak very loudly about the love of God.  I am not shy about being a Christian.  Most of my friends, family and co-workers know it.  And I hope that when they experience me caring for them, they understand that love comes from God and from the joy of the Holy Spirit. 

However, there are times when I don’t act as loving as I should.   Unfortunately, I am sure these actions speak loudly too, but not in a positive way.  I often try to apologize after the fact and hopefully this reminds people that I am just as human as they are and I make my share of mistakes (and then some)

How loud is the voice of your small group?

This is just beginning but I see this growing very significantly in the next few months.  One of the things that my friend Jeremiah always tried to impress upon me when we were learning about church, was the importance of community involvement.  Well, it took me a while to finally figure it out, but community involvement is a perfect opportunity for a small group to show love to people. 

In the coming weeks we are going to be doing a community outreach project called “A Day in the Park”.  We are going to connect people and the resources they need together in a 2 day event at a little league park here in town.  But there are plenty of other opportunities in our town to make this kind of a difference, and our group started discussing these yesterday.

Leave a Reply

 
