Reflections in Christ

Reflecting on my journey in Christ

My Spiritual Desires

Posted by gshstudy on August 22, 2006

I have put off posting this for too long.  I originally wrote this poem for an assignment for my Christian Writing Course.  It is my first try at poetry (or prose I am still not very clear on which is which) since grade school.  But it really sums up my hearts desire for my life, my writing and my relationship with God.  I was later invited to read it at my church, Manchester Christian Church.  I was also interviewed for a video. Both experiences were very enlightening for me and reminded me what a difference that Jesus has made in my life and how much my life has changed over the past 5 years.

My Spiritual Desires  by G. Scott Hughes

How small I feel
When I think of all the glory that is God
If only I could bring a small amount of that glory
To each person I meet

How small I feel
When I ponder all that God has given me
And all He asks me in return is that I trust in Him
And to share that trust with others

How small I feel
When I realize the responsibility God has given
To bring His words to those who need Him
And help them know Him better

How small I feel
When I pray to God and give Him thanks
For all the big things that He does each day
To make His presence known

How small I feel
When I dream of His return
I want to be worthy of all of these
So He will smile at me and say “Good Job”

2 Responses to “My Spiritual Desires”

  1. I enjoyed reading your poem. God bless you.

    Carol

  2. mbb_Him said

    “Good Job” from God… just kidding, guess who I am….
    the poem is great… I can just pray for you that your desire gets fulfilled…

Leave a Reply

 
