Reflections in Christ

Reflecting on my journey in Christ

Purpose Driven Life – Day 6 and Day 7 Questions to Consider

Posted by gshstudy on August 21, 2006

Day 6 – How should the fact that life on earth is a temporary assignment change the way I am living right now?

Work is a great analogy for this question.  During my quarter century of work experience I have met several different types of people.  I have worked with people who were not interested in the company at all and they were there more or less to play and get a paycheck.   I have been employed by people who haven’t had a clue of what was going on in their own companies and made many a decision without getting any information just to look like they were in charge.  And I have also worked with people who felt, the company would let go of me without a second thought so why should I doing anything beyond the minimal for them.

But I beleive that when we are at work we are not just working for a paycheck or to have a job.  We should be working like God is our boss.  A quote I once heard said something to the effect of “A true judge of a man’s character is what he does when no one will know the difference.”  But in those cases we forget that God will still know the difference. 

And that is the change in my life that has occured as I realize we are on temporary assignment here on earth, remembering that even when I am alone, God still knows my heart and sees what I do.  This is not a “make myself feel guilty” kind of presence, but a “I am right there with you and will help you out as you go through this” kind of presence.  Because that is who God is.

Day 7 – Where in my daily routine can I become more aware of God’s glory? 

When things get really stressful I have a tendancy to forget that it is all for God’s glory.  These don’t really happen on a regular basis so they tend to blind side me or I gradually slip into them without even noticing.  A good example of this for me is some of the challenges I face at work.  That would be a good starting place for me to be more aware.

Note: From here on out I will be covering only one chapter per day from the Purpose Driven Life book.  I plan to catch up to were our group is in Man in the Mirror and then start with Ortberg and McClarens books.  I also have a couple of non-book related articles I am working on so keep an eye out for those and as always, thank you for taking the time to read and responding if you left comments.

4 Responses to “Purpose Driven Life – Day 6 and Day 7 Questions to Consider”

  1. Athletics Road baylor…

    I am Karin, very interesting article that contained the information I was searching for in Google, thanks….

  2. shampoo for hard water…

    [...]Purpose Driven Life – Day 6 and Day 7 Questions to Consider « Reflections in Christ[...]…

  3. ремонт, строительство, декор…

    [...]Purpose Driven Life – Day 6 and Day 7 Questions to Consider « Reflections in Christ[...]…

  4. Пенополистирол peno-polisterol.ru (иначе – пенопласт) экологически чистый, нетоксичный тепло и -звуко строительный материал.
    В ремонтно-строительной практике этот материал применяется уже в течении пятидесяти лет и зарекомендовал себя как более экономический и
    удобный в работе утеплитель, которому сродные высокие пара и теплопроводные черты.

    Пенопласт может использоваться
    при утеплении стен «легким сырым»
    способом, в глубине пустотелой кирпичной кладки, а еще в
    вент фасадах. Кроме того,
    наружные ограждающие устройства
    с употреблением элементов пенополистирола обладают низкий удельный вес,
    что придает возможность предотвратить лишних затрат на усиление фундаментов при реконструкции и
    надстройке существующих зданий, а также заметно сэкономить
    финансовые средства при новом строительстве.
    Ограничение использования пенополистирольных плит
    Применения пенополистирола ограничивает
    его слабая стойкость к действию высоких температур.
    Без дополнительной нагрузки пенополистирол выдерживает
    температуру 100 градусов, а при физико-механических нагрузках длительная температурная выдержка, которая
    находится в зависимости от плотности, составляет приблизительно 80 градусов.
    При больших температурах ядовитость пенопласта возрастает.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

