Reflections in Christ

Reflecting on my journey in Christ

Purpose Driven Life – Days 1, Day 2 and Day 3 Questions to Consider

Posted by gshstudy on August 17, 2006

Day 1 – In spite of all the advertizing around me, how can I remind myself that life is really about living for God, not myself?

  1. Prayer – I think prayer is key and helps keep me focused on it being about God, not us.
  2. Reading the Bible and other study guides – This increases my knowledge of his word but also gives me a greater understanding into who God is. 
  3. Community – Being involved in the community reminds me that I am part of a much larger world that I can’t control.
  4. Small Group – Sharing my challenges in life with the other members of my small group and then we can prayer over them.
  5. Writing – This is something that God and I do together.  But I can feel God in control, when I am writing. 

Day 2 – I know that God uniquely created me.  What areas of my personality, background, and physical appearance am I struggling to accept?

I sometimes struggle with having ADHD. I know in my mind that it is part of my purpose, but often, right after my mouth works before my brain kicks in, do I feel like it is more of a curse then a blessing.  It also creates challenges in group which I ussually shy away from but amstarting to get a lot better with.

The other area I rarely but sometimes struggle with is my age.  At 41 (which is not old) i sometimes feel I should have accomplished more and had a bigger impact on the world.  Thankful, writing isstarting to make that change being something that I struggle with to being something I embrace.

Day 3 – What would my family and friends say is the driving force of my life?  What do I want it to be?

I believe they would say it is my Faith in Jesus Christ as my savior, my relationship with God and my writing.  I would also hope they would say it is reaching out to others with the Gospel, but in an everyday average guy kind of way.  I am no evangalist or preacher.  I am just a regular guy who does regular things every day.  But I have a joyful relationship with an extraordinary God and in turn I may sometimes do things that others see as extraordinary.  I just want to be the man God made me to be and connect (whether through Writing, Fantasy Football, Trips to DisneyWorld or having a BBQ) with as many people as I can in whatever time I am given.

Leave a Reply

 
