Reflections in Christ

Reflecting on my journey in Christ

Man in the Mirror Chapter 2, Questions 1, 2 and 3

Posted by gshstudy on August 16, 2006

1) What would you like on your tombstone to summarize your life?

“Speak up for those who cannot speak for themselves for the rights of all who are destitute. Speak up and judge fairly; defend the rights of the poor and needy” from Proverbs 31:8-9 NIV.  Jen, Chris, Taylor and Jackson, I love you and will always be proud of you.  Stephanie, it will be a long few hours, but I’ll be waiting.

2) Which of your experiences and relationships do you think have had the greatest impact on how you think, speak and act?  In what ways have they influenced you for good? . . . for bad?

One experience which had a huge impact on me was reading the Left Behind series.  It  sparked me to get recommited to my relationship with God/Christ.  From there I have just grown in all my relationships through my church, family, friends which have all had an impact on the way I think, speak and act.  I would say these have all be positive experiences for good.  The Lord has blessed me by putting people in my life who help keep me focused on the right paths.  The most important of these being my wife Stephanie, who keeps me focused on the good and stearing clear of the bad.

3) Of the two life views, the Christian life view and the secular life view, what percentage of each are you?  Describe the thinking that brought you to this answer.

I would say it is about 80% Christian Life View and 20% secular life view.  I say this because I still have a tendancy some times to feel like I am the one in control and it is my will that makes things happen. It is at time like this when I foget that God is here and active and it is not all about me.  I am pretty sure I could never hit 100% but if I do, watch out mountains. 

Leave a Reply

 
