Reflections in Christ

Reflecting on my journey in Christ

Man in the Mirror Chapter 1, Questions 3 (4 and 5 Tonight)

Posted by gshstudy on August 6, 2006

3) In what ways has your material standard of living gone up since you were a child?  In what ways do you think your moral/spiritiual/relational standard of living has been affected?

My family did not have a whole lot when I was growing up.  My parents divorced when I was 14 and my Mom raised 3 boys alone.  I am certainly materially better off then I was then.  I don’t believe that any of those standards were affected by my material level.  Going through most of my life, I have been blessed by people who have helped me keep my Material Standard and my moral/spiritiual/relational standard in proper order.

One Response to “Man in the Mirror Chapter 1, Questions 3 (4 and 5 Tonight)”

  1. Ed said

    3) In a way, my material standards have gone down, or at least stayed the same. Maybe my relationship with my materials has changed? When I was a kid, there was always a sense of wonder at aquiring some new toy or gadget that I felt would entertain me. Now, I certainly have a sense of anticipation that something might be fun, or interesting, but the feeling is much less than in my youth. Now aquiring new materials is usually a mater of homeostasis. I have hit a comfort point and would like to stay here, so I don’t really strive to aquire new things, and I even find pressure to get things to be an annoyance.

Leave a Reply

 
