Reflections in Christ

Reflecting on my journey in Christ

Icy Touch

Posted by gshstudy on June 8, 2006

“OH MY, I can’t believe it” was the first thought that went through my mind. As the incredible coldness grasped at my feet it sent a shock wave through my nervous system and I screamed out in pain.

“AHG AHG What am I doing here”, I cried out as I felt the icy feeling at the bottom of my feet creep up toward my ankles. The sensation was more incredibly painful then anything I had ever felt before in my life. It was as if both my feet were about to fall off.

What seemed like an hour, but in reality was more like a few moments, finally passed and I was now numb up to my knee caps. I couldn’t even feel my feet anymore. I thought the pain was more than I could take and yet I endured. I tried to focus my thoughts on something else but to no avail.

A few moments later, the icy touch had moved to my waist. At this point I tried to move away but it’s freezing grip was already upon me. There was nothing I could do as my legs went numb. I could only feel the icy touch all around me and I began to grow more fearful, but I pressed forward.

A short while later I could feel the cold all the way up to the middle of my chest. I felt that I would surely die from this and yet I hung onto life. The pain was incredible as it shot through my body and again I screamed in my mind. I was too proud to admit defeat and therefore had little choice but to continue with the task at hand.

By now the icy touch had come all the way to my neck. My entire body was numb. Only my head remained conscience of what was going on around me. The rest of my body felt as though a thousand daggers were being forced through it. The pain was tremendous. I wanted to scream again. I wanted to run away. I wanted to seek refuge at some far off dessert were the temperature was about one hundred degrees.

A voice ahead of me called out to hurry up. My body told me I had gone far enough and yet my mind wanted to press on. It was as if something was tugging at me; drawing me farther into the icy coldness ahead of me.

I pushed forward. An instant before my head was consumed by the icy touch my mind raced with wild thoughts. What if I don’t survive? What if I am frozen here forever? What if I am found ten thousand years into the future in a block of ice? Then suddenly there was silence.

Then I came back to the top of the water.

“See, now that wasn’t so bad now was it” my wife said.

“I nearly froze to death”, I replied loudly.

She looked at me and laughed. “Don’t worry, once you get used to it you will find the water is fine. After all, how cold could a pool get in the middle of July.”

2 Responses to “Icy Touch”

  1. gshstudy said

    Comments (From my previous blog): ๐Ÿ™‚ Ha-ha-ha! I was absolutely certain that you had walked out onto an iced-over pond up North somewhere and had fallen in. I quickly scrolled down to the bottom to see how you managed to survive! Ugh!๐Ÿ™‚ Be sure to use your sun screen while enjoying the pool! Enjoyed your story! -Cora๐Ÿ™‚

    # posted by Mayden’s Voyage : 11:40 PM

  2. manisha said

    very funny!!! really enjoyed it… the last line is too good…. “After all, how cold could a pool get in the middle of July”.

Leave a Reply

 
