Reflections in Christ

Reflecting on my journey in Christ

If You Want to Walk on Water, You Have to Get Out of the Boat . . . Chapter 7

Posted by gshstudy on March 20, 2006

1. When I was growing up, failure management was not dealt with in a positive manner. I can often remember my Dad pushing me to do everything right and that if I wasn’t going to do it right then I might as well not even try as I was part of the problem instead of part of the solution.

2. Once upon a time I would have said my responce to failure might be fear. Run for the covers and hide from it. Now, I would say determination, meet it and learn from. I have not failed 10,000 times, I have successfully found 10,000 ways that do not work.

3. My most painful failure is a tie between letting my friend Brian down with a company we were going to start and letting my friend Jeremiah down with a church planting. A close runner up is failing to take care of my marriage which almost failed but thankfully we were able to save that. I learned a lot from the last one about appreciating every moment as it will never happen again. The first two, I learned I need to be more persistant and commited to things.

4. Right now I can’t think of anywhere that fear of failing is holding me back, but as noted above, there were several places that I have had challenges with it in the past. Thanks to the faith the Lord has given me I can weather these storms better. That and the Love and Trust that I have with Stephanie and our growing faith.

5. I have gotten OK at encouraging myself in the Lord, however I need more work for the down times when things are not going so well.

Leave a Reply

 
