Reflections in Christ

Reflecting on my journey in Christ

If You Want to Walk on Water, You Have to Get Out of the Boat . . . Chapter 3

Posted by gshstudy on February 1, 2006

1. My current work shows some of my giftedness and passion. How I relate to people and train them seem to shine through. Also, I enjoy problem solving which I get to do a lot of. But techniqually, I am way behind the curve. And I don’t feel the motivation to sprint after them.

2. My being impulsive has gotten me into trouble most if not all of my life. It has also hampered me in areas, particularly in my faith. I always thought it was all about me and what I could do, whether it was teaching, memory versus, meeting new people in the church, starting my own house church or any other area of my walk. I suppose having ADHD should count for some of it, but I understand now so much more the difference between I can do it alone without any help, and I need God so we can do it together. (Just as a note, given the examples in the book and from what I have read in the Bible, I suspect Peter may been blessed have had ADHD too🙂

3. Since childhood, the activities that cause me the joy and fulfillment would have to be, teaching, leading teams and hanging out with friends whether playing cards or gaming, to name a few..

4. One of the limitations that is painful to me is my follow through for the long haul. I start out all pumped up and ready to roll and then it is like something took the wind out of my sails.

5. I am not yet clear about my sense of calling. I know it is a calling toward teaching and toward ministry, but I also know it is more then that. Just not sure what the more is yet?

6. To explore this calling a little I am currently leading a small group and want to get back to some teaching at MCC. I also need to take more classes to help discover the direction I am going in.

UPDATE: It is amazing how something will find you if you give it enough time.  I am now taking a writing course through the Christians Writers Guild and it is becoming quite clear that writing is were my calling is.  I will be writing more about this in the future.

Leave a Reply

 
